Celebration of Community 2017

NGCF’s annual Celebration of Community event is an opportunity to gather as a community to honor individuals & groups dedicated to making a lasting difference in the lives of others.

2018 Celebration of Community

The North Georgia Community Foundation will be hosting a Celebration of Community event on Monday, October 29 2018 at The Dillard House in Dillard, Rabun County, Georgia. Please mark your calendars and plan to join us in a celebration of philanthropy in Rabun County with a special recognition of the Lake Rabun Association.

Check back soon on details for tickets, tables and sponsorship opportunities.

2017 Celebration of Community

The North Georgia Community Foundation hosted a Celebration of Community Event on October 12, 2017 at the Gainesville Civic Center. The evening consisted of a conversation with Doug Ivester, Retired Chairman & CEO, Coca-Cola Co. and hometown philanthropist. We also honored Dr. Buddy Langston and Callie Flack with our philanthropy awards.

Thank You for a Great 2017 Celebration of Community event

Platinum Sponsor

Premier Sponsor

Premier Sponsor

Premier Sponsor

Supporting Sponsor

Supporting Sponsor

Table Sponsors

Don and Dot Pirkle
Cumming-Forsyth Chamber of Commerce
Bobbie and Dallas Gay
University of North Georgia Mike Cottrell College of Business
Jim Walters Management Company
Mrs. Janelle Whalen
Douglas and V. Kay Ivester Foundation, Inc.
Jackson EMC
Longstreet Clinic
Strother and Cindy Randolph
Danny and Lynda Askew
Philip and Mary Hart Wilheit
Nancy and Frank Norton, Jr.
David and Daphne Murray
Stewart, Melvin, & Frost LLP
Turner, Wood, & Smith Insurance
Milton Martin Honda
Wayne Capital
Whelchel, Dunlap, Jarrard & Walker LLP

Philanthropy Awards

Each year the Community Foundation accepts nominations for our Philanthropy Awards, which are presented at the Celebration of Community event. These two distinguished awards recognize individuals passionate about serving others and making significant contributions to make our community a better place for us all.

Woodrow Stewart Leadership in Philanthropy Award

This award, established in 2012, honors the legacy of Woodrow Stewart, a driving force for our community. Nominees for this award possess Mr. Stewart’s unwavering dedication to providing leadership in support of philanthropic causes important to the community and demonstrate strategic and business-minded approaches to addressing community issues.


Gus Whalen Young Philanthropist Award

Created in 2016 to honor the late Gus Whalen, a true visionary in Hall County and throughout north Georgia, this award recognizes individuals between 18 and 40 investing in their local community through volunteer service.


Have a Question?

If you have any questions regarding the event, nominations or sponsorships, contact Megan Martin at or 770-535-7880.

Stay Informed.